Grilled Beef Roast

Have you ever grilled a beef roast before? If you are like me, I always used to cook roast beef in a croc pot or in the oven. I hated the croc pot method because the beef tasted like it belonged in a soup. The oven method was ok but I always seemed to over cook the roast. What a conundrum!

The solution?

Grill it!

I grilled my first beef roast a month ago and it turned out awesome! It was cooked perfectly, had tons of flavor, and only took about an hour to cook.

Compare that to the croc pot method where it has to sit all day long.

So let’s get to it.

You will need the following ingredients to pull this off:

4 – 5 pound bottom round beef roast
Extra Virgin Olive Oil
Garlic Pepper Salt
Finely chopped fresh Dill (or herb of your choice)

Worcestershire Sauce

A1 Steak Sauce

A tin foil pan or oven safe pan that you can put on the grill

Rub the beef roast with all of the seasonings that you chose.

Put the beef in a bag or container and pour in a little bit of Worcestershire sauce (you want enough to coat the beef but not so much that it is swimming.)

Add an equal amount of extra virgin olive oil.

Let the beef roast sit in the cooler for about 2 to 3 hrs.

When the beef roast has marinated for 2 to 3 hours, go outside and fire up your grill. You want to use the indirect heating method here so only put the charcoal on one side of the grill.

When the coals are ready (gray and covered in ash) place the beef roast directly over the coals. You want to sear each side for about 2 minutes. Make sure you develop a nice crust.

After all sides have been seared, move the roast into your pan and to the other side of the grill. I like to put  about a ¼ cup of water mixed with some A1 Steak Sauce in the bottom of the pan.

Close the lid and leave it alone for approximately 30 minutes. After 30 minutes flip the roast over so that the top side can sit in the juice at the bottom of the pan.

Put the lid back on for another 30 minutes.

After this time, grab a meat thermometer and make sure your internal temperature is between 135 – 140 degrees (medium rare).

If it is at the temp that you like, take it off and let it rest for 5 – 10 minutes before slicing the beef.

There you have it! Watch the video and you will see how it’s done.

Enjoy!

4 responses to “Grilled Beef Roast

  1. The only thing I confuse about this one is the ‘Worcestershire’ thing, I tried for five minutes, copying you, and didn’t get any result. LOL. Very difficult to pronounce! hahaha

  2. Ha! I can never pronounce that word!!! I dont even know if I spelled it right.
    It was even more difficult to say in the video because my mouth was watering.
    LOL

    Did you see my neighbors house with the tree on it? YIKES!!!

  3. Oh my goodness! That is just perfect! I am a student and had a bit of money saved up and some friends and I were discussing what to cook the weekend for the 4th. I kid you not, we decided on Roast Beef!

    This came just in time! Magnificent!

  4. Aidy,
    That is Awesome!
    I know you guys are going to love it. I think one of the greatest ways to spend time with friends is to cook for them / with them.
    Roast Beef is about as American as it gets. Great choice.

    Let us know how it turns out!!!

Leave a Reply

